Life at Breakthru

Brown-Forman and Breakthru Beverage Unveil 2021 Inductees into the 1870 Society

Brown-Forman Breakthru Beverage 1870 society header

Sep. 17, 2021

The 1870 Society committee, comprised of leaders from both organizations, recently announced the 2021 inductees into its storied program. The 1870 Society, now in its eighth year, was created by John Higgins, Vice President at Brown-Forman, and Rick Slaughter, Breakthru’s Vice President of Business Development with Brown-Forman, with the intention to celebrate and thank those associates who went above and beyond to further Brown-Forman’s business within the Breakthru organization.

Slaughter told this year’s inductees, “During this challenging year, earning induction required unique dedication, determination, and effort. Your hard work and creativity have not gone unnoticed.”

This is the first year that our Canadian associates from PMA Canada Ltd. were inducted into the program.

A virtual induction ceremony will be held in October and all first year inductees will receive the custom 1870 Society ‘Golden Grain’ ring, second year winners will have two diamonds added to their rings, and associates who have been inducted three times or more will receive an additional cash award.

Congratulations to the 2021 inductees!

2021 1870 Society Inductees

**Mike Neef, BBG DE
***Lokesh Jaiswal, BBG DC
Charles Stafford, BBG FL
*****Darren Balch, Brown-Forman associate
**Michele Boltin, BBG FL
****Musa Abu Nassar, BBG FL
**Samantha Rockwell, BBG FL
****Tony Winiecki, BBG FL
**Meghan Rochfort, BBG MD
John Taylor, BBG PA
**Jim Laminack, BBG SC
Gemma Salang, BBG VA
**Lorenzo Lucas, BBG AZ
Randi Sande, BBG CO
Todd Hayes, Brown-Forman associate
Art Fruith, BBG IL
Brian Orchard, BBG IL
David Salls, BBG IL
**Shawn Grundon, BBG IL
Cade Shelton, Brown-Forman associate
**Kris Kapitan, BBG MN
Terri Minter, BBG NV
Jacob Federmeyer, BBG WI
George MacFarlane, PMA CAN Alberta
Michelle Chandler, PMA CAN British Columbia
Cole Maricotti, PMA CAN Ontario
Laura Nielsen, PMA CAN Ontario

*Denotes number of wins


In 1870 Old Forester, the first bottled Bourbon laid the cornerstone of the Brown-Forman Company. Over the last five generations Brown-Forman has become one of the oldest and largest producers of North American Whiskeys. The 1870 Society was formed to honor this heritage and tradition.

Every year high performing Breakthru Beverage Group and Brown-Forman corporation associates are inducted into the 1870 Society. Induction into the Society is based on their commitment, passion, and the value of their contribution to Brown-Forman’s Whiskey brands. Inductees receive a gold ring signifying their membership in an exclusive group of sales and marketing professionals.